Seafarers tax is being abused

News and views - Any insider information? Put it here!

Moderator: Vixen

marky9074
Site Admin
Site Admin

Please read and comment...

Mark
Attachments
2305.pdf
(205.14 KiB) Downloaded 1409 times
marky9074
Site Admin
Site Admin

I read with interest the comments regarding the abuse of foreign earnings deduction. Having started my seagoing career some years ago as a cadet with P&OCL, moved on to a career in surveying, then come ashore as a VTS operator, I appreciate the issue from both sides. I understand the frustration that his vessel was taken over by a group of whinging individuals, but would like to assure him that this is not a fair representation of the offshore industry as a whole.

I do though take exception to the comments that individuals are ‘abusing’ the system. As I understand it, foreign earnings deduction applies to a diverse spectrum of people employed ‘on seagoing vessels’ and is not restricted to just ‘deck and engineering’ officers.

On a cruise ship is it not normal for a barman or entertainer to be equally entitled to a discharge book and seaman’s card, and ultimately to claim foreign earnings deduction? The possession of a discharge book does in no way guarantee acceptance of claims for foreign earnings deduction. The fact remains however that if an individual is carrying out the duties of their employment, on a vessel which the Inland Revenue accept as qualifying for seafaring status, a claim can still be agreed even without a discharge book. The statement that people are falsely obtaining discharge books for the purpose of claiming foreign earnings deduction is somewhat profound and without substance.

It is also worth noting that the possibility exists that these people were actually self-employed (as they were obviously contractors/freelancers on a day rate) and would not in fact be able to claim foreign earnings deduction directly.